wisconsindead

Sagging Tomato Stems - Hard Pruning Single Stem Indeterminat

Hey guys,

This is my first year growing tomatoes using the hard pruning technique. I am growing all plants up rope/twine. However, they are beginning to sag down the twine due to the weight of the tomatoes. For some, the stems have even snapped. Does anyone know how to counter this? I don't see anyone talking about this when using this method so I feel like I am missing something.

This picture is from 3 weeks ago before the weight of tomatoes forced the plants to start sagging. But it shows my set up.
2.JPG
1.JPG

applestar
Mod

Yep the tomato stems spiraled onto strings simply slide down the strings. Bah! It's not obvious until they start bearing fruits or unless you get hit by the stray hurricane or tornado. (YEAH ...been there :oops:)

You need to securely tie them off by tying a length of softer material like strips of old T-shirts, tube socks cut in rings, or nylon stockings with runners in them (old nylons are better when water shedding and quick drying is preferred). Sort of twist and tie to the string so the knot won't slide, then tie the plant stem below a strong leaf branch. You could also X below a fruit stem to support the truss, then around and under a branch -- not too tight, just snug.

Another more horti-techie method is to use thin nylon cords/strings and tomato clip-rings which are designed to pinch closed tightly onto the string and the ring part clicks around the tomato stem.

applestar
Mod

I took a picture of mine a few days? Ago, but I don't think I posted it.... let me go look.

Here it is -- this is how I'm doing it this year -- not sufficient yet since I'm playing catch up and supporting the ones that are starting to fruit as they develop. But I think you can see the ones with green strings and tomato clips? I meant to get these finished today, but ended up working on the raspberry trellis....

applestar
Mod