CaliKathy
Newly Registered

Tomato from seed - crowded??

Hello!!! This is my first year growing tomatoes from seed. :D I have a 4x4ft outside planter where I transferred all my little sprouting seedlings once they were growing. Well, they are REALLY TAKING OFF. :() They are all 3-4 feet tall now but each "grouping" of seeds that I threw down has 3-4 large tomato plants coming out of it (in the same spot in the soil). I have 11 tomato "groupings" growing 31 tomato plants in this planter!!! I talked to someone who told me that they would not thrive under these crowded conditions (even though they look REALLY HAPPY right now). I ordered another planter (4' x 8') and am thinking I should just PULL OUT (ouch!! I'm afraid of hurting my plants that I grew from seed!!!) and transfer a lot of these tomato plants. Is the goal to have just ONE plant in a spot - not even TWO can exist together?? Any tips on transplanting?? I'm going to try to attach a picture of my current "vegetable jungle". Oh, and we do get rabbits but I haven't seen any yet. Do they wait until you have growing tomatoes to come out? I don't have it "protected" in any way. I am A TOTAL NEWBIE and am REALLY enjoying my new garden and learning as I go!!! Thank you so much for your help!! :P Kathy
Attachments
My crowded tomatoes
My crowded tomatoes
IMG_1540.JPG (46.76 KiB) Viewed 1061 times
My vegetable jungle.
My vegetable jungle.
IMG_1541.JPG (54.64 KiB) Viewed 1061 times

Java

4X4 boxes are too small for tomatoes. Especially the height. Are those 6" tall planters?

If tomatoes are indeterminate type, they can grow to 7ft tall.

I use these planters
https://www.homedepot.com/p/CITY-PICKERS ... /202563845

called city-pickers.

I have 2 plants in one box. Just to give you an idea of size it is almost 2ftx2ft and 9" tall.
Each tomatoes need 12inch to 25inch pots.

Good luck. read up on this and other websites.
Last edited by Java on Thu May 04, 2017 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

rainbowgardener