Bobogolope
Newly Registered

Curling leaves with brown spots

Hello all! I'm a newbie Gardner and have been getting my butt kicked by tomato plants. I think these photos are probably my 5th go at tomatoes, but I'll keep at it.

I live in Hawaii and this plant is in a small pot on my porch. It gets plenty of indirect light but very little late day direct sunlight. Plant is a couple months old and I used miracle gro potting soil. There appears to be mold and even spider webs? As well as the leaves curling and browning in spots. The single lonely little tomatoe has lines running around it.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!!
Attachments
image4.JPG
image3.JPG
image2.JPG
image1.JPG

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Wow, lots going on.

The pale squiggly trails in the leaves are leaf miners. They are an insect larva that hatches out inside the leaf and chews its way around the leaf interiors until it is ready to come out and pupate. They are not really a terrible pest; the plant can withstand a lot of that without being set back too much. But to keep it from becoming a more major infestation, just pull off the leaves with squiggles, stomp them to destroy the larva and trash.

The white spider webby stuff is probably wooly scale insects (or maybe cottony cushiony scale insects, which are similar). They are insects, but they don't move, just attach themselves to the plant and suck away at the juices. When there's a lot of them, this is damaging. And they excrete their excess carbohydrates in the form of a sweet sticky substance that can grow black mold on it. You can get rid of them by dabbing them with cotton ball soaked in rubbing alcohol. Or they can be smothered by spraying with horticultural oil.

Your tomato is being chewed on by some kind of insect, perhaps a squash bug.

I don't know what to say about the brown spots. Possibly some fungal disease getting started. Or possibly more insect damage.