Beethenovicegardener
Newly Registered

PLEASE need help to identify tomato problem!

hello! This is my first year planting vegetables in my back yard so I'm definitely a beginner and can use any advice you can give. I am Southern California zone 11? I think.. The first plant I bought at lowes was this indigo rose tomato plant. It's been doing great, the fruit is getting big and most of the blossoms have been turning into fruit but I have been noticing small translucent spots on some of the leaves. Is this some type of fungus or a pest problem? Pics below and thanks in advance for your help
Attachments
tomatoes.jpeg
tomatoes.jpeg (83.74 KiB) Viewed 2675 times
tomato plant.jpeg
tomato plant.jpeg (48.09 KiB) Viewed 2675 times

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It might be just sunscald. Sometimes if you have water droplets on the leaves and the sun hits them, it acts like a magnifying glass and makes little sunburn spots like that. You are better off to just water the soil not the leaves anyway.

If that is what it is, the burned spots won't heal, but it won't spread and if you don't get water on the leaves, you won't keep getting more.

Beethenovicegardener
Newly Registered

thanks so much for your response! Well after reading your response I looked up some pictures of sunscald and looks like that was the problem, but earlier in kind of a panic to save my plant I removed many of the damaged leaves :oops: , will this be a problem? Also some of the leaves near the bottom of the plant by the soil have holes in them, these are in the shade of the plant though, could this be a different problem? TIA!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Depends on how many of the leaves you removed. The tomatoes benefit from shade of the leaves and of course the leaves are how the plant collects energy. So if you took a significant portion off, it could cause problem, but if just a few, it will be fine.