Zintuplet
Newly Registered

Enough space for tomato and horseradish to co-exist?

My tomato vine is starting to become rather large in my little Aldi raised bed and I look to have a 200 tomato yield.

I have removed everything from else from my garden except for the horseradish and a small sweet potato.

I'm worried the tomato vine is going to suck up all the 'good stuff' in my garden.

Should I transfer my horseradish? That's her in the front left.

*Edit. This is my first attempt at growing anything. By the looks of it my plant is out of control!!

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B70EG ... DVwZ3RIYlU

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B70EGv ... sp=sharing

Asica

I could not see a picture

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

The pictures are there (for me anyway), if you click on the links.

Everything in your little garden bed looks very healthy so far, though it does look crowded.

I would get the sweet potato out of there. Sweet potato is a spreading vine. It puts down more roots at the places where the stem touches down and that is important for its nourishment. They need a lot of space. And they have different requirements from a tomato plant. The tomato needs pretty much water and Nitrogen. If the sweet potato plant gets as much water and N as the tomato plant, it will grow gigantic vines, but not form much tubers. AND it will be more tender and vulnerable to disease and pests.

It looks like you have plenty of room left. Make another garden bed! :D

PaulF
Greener Thumb

I agree with Rainbow. Everything looks healthy but will become too crowded as your season goes on. If you would put your location it would help. Another raised bed would be easy and a way to separate the plants. Or even a large container for the sweet potato and another for the horseradish would work well. That way you could place them close together for the look but each plant's needs could be customized.

imafan26
Mod