Garf
Green Thumb

Varieties for the Swamps of Miami, Florida

I am still looking for varieties that can survive the heat and humidity of a Miami summer. Most heat resistant varieties specify DRY conditions. That won't do here. Does anyone have any ideas?

SFloridaGardener

Hey there neighbor. I'm new to gardening but thought I'd let you know I'm having good success so far with the Fourth of July tomato from Burpee. I bought a pre started plant from them about a month ago and transplanted it in my raised bed. I haven't gotten any fruit growth yet but it has grown several inches taller and more leaves since I planted it. Hopefully it will withstand our summer heat and produce tomatoes. I'll let you know how it does!
I hear heatmaster is a good one for Florida as well.

catgrass
Green Thumb

Solar Set, Heatwave, Florida 91(?-not sure about the number). Check with the Florida State Ext. agency. They have a good one, and can recommend for your area. I am in South Louisiana, and my tomatoes are usually done by the end of June-but I baby my plants (shade, water) through the summer-trim them up in Sept. and I have tomatoes until December.

Garf
Green Thumb

Those sound good, and I have seed for most of them. Problem is I heard most of them don't taste that great, so I have hesitated to grow them.

catgrass
Green Thumb

I have grown both Heatwave and Florida 91. They have an fair taste-not outstanding, but better than a grocery store tomato.

suncitylinda

I grow Burpees Fourth of July in the summer here. Certainly not a Stump of the World flavor wise but it is a lot better that nothing and/or store bought. I have heard from several reliable sources the Burpees Quarter Century excels in heat. I will have to try it as a fall plant out.

imafan26
Mod