River

True leaves

I planted celebrity Amelia's sun gold and black cherry on nov 10th by 1/15 majority had germinated as of today 10 days later it appears that I have new leaves forming. The temp in my house is around 65 degrees. I read that different varieties and I guess environment can have different results. There are roots starting to protrude as well in the 72 cells.

This is my first time. Is this possible?

imafan26
Mod

Yep, time to pot them up to larger pots. You don't want to check the growth of any vegetable, once it stunts, it rarely becomes anything close to what it can be.

When it is cooler plants grow very slowly. That same seed planted a little later would have been one third of the way grown by now. I planted the beefsteak tomatoes 1/11/15 in a 4 inch community pot. They are about 4 inches now with their first set of true leaves so time for me to pot them up too. Now I just have to make more space.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Wow, you were very patient! I would have given up on those seeds long since - two months later they germinated? I start tomato seeds on heat mats and they germinate in 3-7 days. From sprouting, ten days to true leaves is not fast.

imafan26
Mod

Actually, they have been ready to pot up for a few days. I have to move some other things off the bench to make room for them. They would have been ready sooner, but this time of year when it is still 60 degrees at night, they are a bit slower. I have no heat mat, they are germinated on an outdoor bench.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

my comment was @ River who said, if I read it right, that tomato seed was planted 11/10 and "majority had sprouted" 1/15. That's about 9 weeks. I never would have waited nine weeks for tomato seeds to sprout, patiently keeping them watered, etc. After about a week if none had showed, I would have started over.

River