danmac0710
Newly Registered

are these tomato plants suitable for growing up a string?

Hi, I am new to growing tomatoes so I appreciate your help. Could you please look at the attached image and let me know whether you think each of the 5 plants (A to E) looks like it is suitable for growing up a string to save space. I think that they all come from either a Roma VFN, floridade, or a Rio Fuego packet from a company called Stark Ayres, but I am not 100% sure as we have various other types growing in the garden too. Neither the seed packets nor the company website gives information on whether they are determinate or not. We live in Southern Mozambique (Africa), right next to the Indian Ocean so we are in the middle of summer right now. We have super-sandy soils here and it gets very hot.

Update: I researched that these 3 varieties are all determinate, so should be bushes rather than vines. Is it possible to grow these types up a string?

Thanks.
Attachments
tomatoes ok for vining post.jpg

tomc
Super Green Thumb

I've had better luck growing semi-determinates in a cage. VS string or California weave.

applestar
Mod

I agree -- determinates shouldn't be pruned, which is what you do when growing INdeterminate varieties up single string per vine trellis ...limiting to 1-3 vines (main plus two side branches, all pruned of sucker branches) per plant. Fruit clusters will form every two or three leaf nodes along the vines.

Determinates terminate each branch with a fruit cluster and doesn't grow any further or produce any more fruit clusters so cutting them off will result in less to nearly no harvest.

If animal/pest predation or significant fungal issues isn't a concern as in a dry climate, the determinate plants don't need to be trellised at all and can be allowed to sprawl on the ground. Some people find it works better to mulch (NOT manure) the ground well first.

imafan26
Mod