speedingpenguin
Newly Registered

White specs / flakes showing up on stems and leaves, bugs??

Howdy!

This is my first year growing veggies, mostly tomatoes, and so far everything's going well (as far as I can tell)

Earlier on, I had noticed some little white flake-like spots showing up on (not part of) my tomatoes... on the stalks as well as the leaves... I lost one plant because it quickly turned into being covered with little green insects and I figured it was better to throw the whole thing away than risk contaminating all of the other plants. They did show up on some of the others, but I was able to get rid of them one at a time basically (the plants were smaller so it was easier than it would be now).

I've sprayed them down with neem oil, hoping that it would get rid of them or prevent them from growing. It's been around 2 days since I noticed they had returned and I've sprayed twice, and so far nothing major has happened.

What are these things and what is the best way to handle them? I'm in Charlotte NC if that makes any difference, and I'd really like to nip the problem in the bud before it gets out of control.

Any advice or suggestions are appreciated!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Hard to tell in your pictures. In the middle picture, the little bumps on the stem are root primordia. It is why we always tell people to bury tomato plants deep. Once buried in moist soil, the primordia grow in to real roots, giving the plant a better root system.

On the bottom picture, I can see some little darkish insects, maybe aphids. Your "little green insects" were probably aphids also. A lot of times you can get rid of the aphids either by squishing them or just with a water spray from the hose. Otherwise a soapy water spray should get rid of them. It takes a whole ton of aphids to do significant damage to healthy plants.