jemsister

Tomato as tall as the stakes...

I'm using five foot tomato stakes to support my plant. I have a bit of a teepee setup with two entirely vertical stakes and leaning stakes supporting those. So very sturdy. Anyway, the tomato has grown as tall as the stakes (about four feet tall). Clearly it's going to grow much taller. It's an indeterminate variety, and I didn't know what that meant until after I purchased it. It's a Sun Gold, which I'm told gets very big and very prolific. So I'm not sure what to do now that it's growing bigger than the supports. My peas did the same thing and ended up falling over (the peas, not the trellis).

What should I do? I realize it will grow a bit taller without needing further support, but at some point it will need something if it gets *very* much bigger. Should I just let it grow and see what happens? Or should I start lopping it off at a certain height? I'm really not sure what to do. This is my first time growing tomatoes.

PaulF
Greener Thumb

Sun Gold will get very tall and bushy and you will have it drape over the top and cascade down to the ground. If you don't have mulch (I use three layers of newspaper on the ground and four to six inches of straw on top of that) it would be a good idea to add a mulch layer under the plant to keep the leaves from contacting the soil.

That will reduce the chance of soil borne disease and keep the tomatoes off the ground for less rot. You will get more tomatoes than you ever thought possible from one plant. Sun Gold is very sweet and tasty, but tend to split open if left on the vine too long. Pick a bunch and let them ripen off the vine for some nice cherry tomatoes.

jemsister