Roseamore
Cool Member

First time tomato grower in need of help

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time growing tomatoes (I'm growing moneymakers) and I need some advise. At this point I have four questions:

1. What is the smallest sized pot I can use to grow moneymakers?

2. How do I know when the plants have out grown their pots and need to be transplanted?

3. At what stage should I prop the plants? Should I wait until they are starting to fall over or should I prop before then?

4. When should I start giving the plants food?

Looking forward to your responses.

Roseamore

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It isn't huge as tomato plants go, but it is basically a full sized tomato, getting 5' tall. You need a full sized pot for it, I.e. at least 5 gallon bucket sized PER PLANT!

These are plants you purchased, not started from seed? Then I would put it directly in the 5 gallon container and leave it there. Tomato seedlings benefit from being transplanted and buried deeper each time. Once the plant is getting big, you don't want to mess with the roots and you will likely break branches if you keep trying to move it.

You need to arrange whatever support system you are going to use when you plant it.

Tomatoes in containers need to be fed regularly. I would get fertilizer for tomatoes, like Tomato Tone and use it every other week starting from two weeks after you put it in the big pot.

applestar
Mod

What rainbow said. 5gal is like MINIMUM. At that, you'll be watering probably twice a day once fruiting begins. Something like 15" cubed would be better.

Also, the support should be sturdy and need to support both the container AND the plant, or the whole thing will topple over especially when the soil is dry or when wind is strong. Say something like 4 1" bamboo or 2" wooden stakes 12"-18" in the ground surrounding the container -- so at least 6', 7' would be better.... Some people drive the stakes THROUGH the bottom of the container.