donnac
Newly Registered

Tomato plant growing out of septic system

I have a tomatoe plant that suddenly grew above my septic system. They are the biggest, most beautiful tomatoes I've ever seen. Are they safe to eat?

pixelphoto

I'm sure there are people here that would but not I.
Too many problems with ecoli and other bacteria. And you cant wash off ecoli its in the plant.

tomakers

donnac wrote:I have a tomatoe plant that suddenly grew above my septic system. They are the biggest, most beautiful tomatoes I've ever seen. Are they safe to eat?
I wouldn't either, but I can remember as a teenager watching someone's grandfather show how he fertilized his tomatoes out of the cesspol. I don't believe E. Coli is within the plant only on the outside, but I'm no scientist.
Happy Gardening,
Tom

pixelphoto

Regardless of the source of contamination in the field, LeJeune explained, E. coli finds a way to survive and reproduce on the surface of vegetables -- and even worse, inside the plant tissue, where it cannot be washed off or killed by disinfectants. LeJeune and colleagues propose that the interaction between E. coli O157 and plant pathogens results in increased E. coli uptake, proliferation, exchange of antibiotic resistance genes, and protection from post-harvest disinfection.

In other words, if vegetables are under siege by plant diseases and become tainted with E. coli, the nasty foodborne bacteria will have a better chance of surviving and multiplying in our next fresh salad -- and it will be harder, if not impossible, to get rid of it.

Thats from a report on Ecoli. Its been known for sometime. You cant wash it off thats the problem when it gets into the plant. Thats why using raw manure on crops is not allowed under organic NOP rules. It must be composted at a temperature of 160 degrees F to kill the ecoli bacteria. it is also why even the composted manure must be applied to the filed 120 days before planting.

NeedSomeHelp
Newly Registered