Gardener123
Green Thumb

Belize Pink Tomatoes?

Anybody ever grow these? If so, how was the yield?

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Interesting name for a tomato. I visited Belize in 2007 and again in 2010. Mostly visited interior area around San Ignacio. Anyway, I had expected to see lots of tomatoes being grown. But when we went to the fresh market, while they had quite a few tomatoes, all were of what I would consider inferior quality. There were no uniform, decent slicing tomatoes, in fact there were few with any size at all. Yet they didn't appear to be salad tomatoes either. They just looked like poorly formed medium sized tomatoes. I just assumed that for some reason, tomatoes just don't do very well in Belize.

I have no knowledge of the Belize pink, but thought my anecdotal experience might be of interest.

Gardener123
Green Thumb

Yep, I was in Belize for 12 days in 1999 on my honeymoon. I can't say as I can really recall what the tomatoes were like, but I can say that most fruit that I had there was awesome. We stayed in Placencia, San Pedro, and in a jungle lodge south of San Ignacio, called Chan Chich.

Belize had the most friendly people I ever met while out of the USA. They also had awesome Belizean coffee, but by their law, I was limited to 5 pounds to take home.

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

The market that we visited did have a wide array of awesome fruit and vegetables, but as posted earlier, the poor quality tomatoes were a negative surprise. My impression of the native Belize people was a little different. Those with Mayan ancestors seemed to tolerate outsiders, but had a somewhat distant and maybe even superior posture toward them. That said, they were pleasant and easy enough to engage in conversation.

I was struck by what appeared to be wide spread poverty. Most houses in the country side looked like multi generational projects. The hospital was straight from the third world. My overnight visit came as a result of a peccary attack.