winklerd
Newly Registered

Can tomatoes survive in pots?

Hello everyone. I'm still relatively new to the world of gardening. My parents have always grown tomatoes and cucumbers (and occasionally other things) and I decided I wanted to try my hand at it this year.

The only problem is: The back yard is almost completely shaded by 2 large trees (we have a small yard). The side of the house is a steep incline with a wall at the bottom. I was wondering if I could plant tomatoes (and possibly other veggies) in pots and sit them on the wall. Can a tomato plant spend its entire life in a pot?

Oh, and I rent this house with some friends. Major landscaping is, therefore, out of the question.

slakker

All our tomatos are grown in pots... there is also a very cool upside down planter that you can grow tomatos in.... they do very well and we get a pretty good harvest every year.

Franco

They totally do but the only thing I'd look out for is if they are indeterminate or determinate. My indeterminate cherry tomato plant was like 7 feet tall last year and I wasn't ready for that so they ended up plopping to the ground.

I think determinate tomatoes grow to 4 feet, but I'm not positive.

TNgardener
Newly Registered

I just wanted to add that any tomatoe can live in an earthbox. They are a container with a water system. I really like them alot. They are excellent for tomatoes. There are also plans on the net to make your own cheaper ones. You have to add potting mix. (not soil) Potting mix will wick the water to the tomatoe. I have only posted twice and both have been about EB, but I don't work for them :lol:

tomstrees
Newly Registered

Yup - with good soil, feeding, mulching, and watering
tomatoes can def. grow in pots!

~ Tom

[img]https://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e94/tomstrees/Bashful%20Project%202007/Start2007Cont-72.jpg[/img]

Zap