Grannygardner
Newly Registered

Over-pruned tomatoes. What can I do now?

Well...for arguments sake, lets say I'm rather new to gardening, but I have had a few years having successful garden, but last year was tearfully disappointing...NOTHING grew...NOT even zucchini! and I'm serious...they rotted long before maturing due to our very cold, soggy weather here in PacNorth-Wet!

I had 6 tomato plants that seemed in eternal suspended animation....they just stood there, looking as immature as when I first planted them...OK, that's not all true....they grew a whole 4 inches and produced ONE tomato!...but that ONE rotted and dropped off the vine before ripening.

So after purchasing a big truck load of soil, stuff they call 4 way.... looks as beautiful as potting soil! I spread it out about 12" thick atop the old soil I'd worked hard for years, tilling, adding this, that and it still was nothing but rock hard clay no matter what I added or did to it. I added 4 humungous bags of Vermiculite…about 1 yard each bag…that's a lot.

Several yards of sand, several years working this soil
And still worst soil ever! Is got lots iron in it as well, so its high iron content makes it rock hard…so much so that must make sure I don't wear my gardening shoes thru airport security, else will set off metal detector alarms...is that bad!...am half kidding, but only half! (People with high iron content in their blood will set off those alarms)..so...now with my new soil, I got 10 tomato plants, different varieties...plants purchased from Boring Garden center...they always have wonderful goods!

So after a month of having wonderful soil, my plants growing very nicely and I'm proud of my garden...the toms growing like weeds and each one laded with veggies/fruit already...so wow!