shangib74

Tomatoes touching ground

I was undable to get my tomatoes staked before some of the plants got too big. This has caused some of them to touch the ground. Is there anything I can do to save the tomatoes from rotting. Also is there a way to bring them up so they don't touch the ground since they are very big plants now lol. I am really new to the gardening world but I already love it lol. I don't mind going out and weeding and watering lol (weird I know). Any way any tips I could get would be great thanks so much.

Spyderco1116

First off... always stake or cage immediatley after transplanting. Even of they are still small and you may think there is no need to do so at that time. Doing this will keep you from having to stake later and interfering with the root system. Having said this... you can anchor weed control fabric around the tomato plants so the actual tomato don't touch the ground. It maybe a little too late to anchor anything close to the plant(s).

shangib74

Thanks for the tip, I kept trying to tell my husband I needed stakes and he kept saying I will get them but then he didn't. Looks like next year I will have to take matters into my own hands lol. This year I will just have to figure it out and do my best to save them if I can. I am still learning and this is one lesson I have learned already lol. I will look for the weed control fabric thanks again.

Spyderco1116

No problem. I know it's your hubby, but sometimes when you want stuff done you have to do it yourself. LOL. Good luck to you. I wish you lots of healthy crop this year and in the future!!

applestar
Mod