Gini

Too much neem oil?

I am using neem oil on my tomatoes to fight leafhoppers.
I sprayed them on saturday and today wednesday (4days after) my friend sprayed them again not knowing that I did already last week.
Is this harmful to my plants?,They are setting flowers just now and I have 1 fruit.

It is very sunny and hot where I live,..

Hortoholic

As long as you are using the dilution rate recommended it should be fine, keep an eye on the plant for any negative effects if you plan to do this often.

Gini

Hortoholic wrote:As long as you are using the dilution rate recommended it should be fine, keep an eye on the plant for any negative effects if you plan to do this often.

Ok,,THANK YOU for replying,,I appreciate it,,I am a beginner at this and I really want to go organic...

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Actually, if you read the neem oil thread in the "What Doesn't Fit Elsewhere" thread you'll discover some very useful information on Neem Oil including (if memory serves) the MSDS for Azardachtin(sp?); the active ingredient in Neem Oil,

What you'll discover is that Neem Oil inhibits the development of winged insects and you'll also learn that North America's Native Honeybee population is under a great amount of stress. Especially in the east.

Anyway, spray neem oil no more than once a week and employ some other organic techniques such as planting flowers to attract the leaf hoppers predators such as other insects (Lacewings, Minute Pirate Bugs, Ladybugs and so on) and birds.

Also, don't plant your plants in the same area each year. Planting annuals in the same place allows the larvae of the insects to overwinter in that soil and then to reinfect the plants that you replant there.