RogueRose
Green Thumb

Hole in Tomato - pretty sure it's not BER

I have a hole in one of my tomatoes. I am pretty sure it's NOT BER because it's on the top and not the bottom. It just doesn't look like any of the photos of BER. It's on a Celebrity tomato plant.

Here it is:
[img]https://i259.photobucket.com/albums/hh302/jeauthomas/From%20Cell/IMG_20120616_181414.jpg[/img]

And I am pretty sure this one (from another plant) *IS* BER:
[img]https://i259.photobucket.com/albums/hh302/jeauthomas/From%20Cell/IMG_20120616_181526.jpg[/img]

And speaking of tomatoes - man these plants are THIRSTY! My "Bonnie Favorite" or Bonnie something sure likes a lot of water. It will look wilty by the end of the day and once I give it some water, within 10 minutes it perks right up. This is my first time growing tomatoes.....I'm not a huge fan but they remind me of my granddaddy and I like to use them in some things.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

It could be snail or slug damage. You'll only find them at night, or if you set out traps for them. There have been many discussions here on how to control them. Use the Search the Forum function up on the black tool bar. :)

Another possibility is a tomato hornworm. If that's what you have, examine your plants very carefully. These worms are big, but they can appear as if they are part of the plant itself.

Good hunting! :lol:

RogueRose
Green Thumb

Thanks! I've seen lots on how to capture snails and slugs.

I checked around the plant bc I had a mystery caterpillar and all the leaves are perfect......just that one tomato has a hole. Would hornworms eat the leaves too?

I just looked at the hornworm - they're purdy! Lol.

GardenRN
Greener Thumb

I think it's early for hornworm. I usually don't see them until the very end of summer. Could it possibly be rodent damage? (squirrels included) although squirrels rarely leave it on the vine as far as I have seen. But maybe a mouse or something, a bird, or some kind of grub?

MaryDel