amy99s

Best Pest Control for Tomato plants

This is my first year with a small garden and I have 2 tomato plants that now have 27 tomatoes growing between them. I have been warned from friends about bugs eating them once they start to turn red but I don't know what the best pest control would be.

I just started noticing leaves with holes in them so I need to find something to use ASAP

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

The best pest control depends on what the pests are. You need to watch closely and see what you see eating your plants.

If you never see anything and you have round holes in the middle of the leaves, that could well be slugs or snails. They only come out at night and they are not susceptible to any of the typical treatments for insects.

Raggedy chewed leaves could be hornworms. These are large green caterpillars, but are hard to spot until you look very closely because they blend in perfectly.

Let us know what kind of damage you are seeing and what you find out about what might be causing it, then we can make some suggestions about what to do about it.

Incidentally no need to panic at the first sign of holes. Plants can easily lose 10% of their leaf surface and not be impacted by it. A small amount of damage is just part of nature. You just don't want a major infestation.

amy99s

they are small smooth edged holes in the middle of the leaves

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

At a guess that's slugs/ snails. You can find out by going out late at night with a flashlight and looking, or lay a board down flat on the soil and leave it a couple days then lift it up in daylight and look under it, or bury something like a tuna can in the dirt so the rim is at ground level and fill it with beer. If it is slugs they will come and die in it.

If you find slugs, type slug control into the Search the Forum Keyword box and find tons written here about them.

amy99s

thank you so much! I have totally become hooked on growing things now :-)

rainbowgardener