QSis
Newly Registered

Do I REALLY have to change all the soil in my tomato pots??

I have been container-gardening for over 20 years, with amazingly few problems (considering I'm a rank amateur and mostly winging it!).

For the second year in a row now, my tomato plants have not performed well. Skimpy, scrawny foilage, late flowering and fruit, low yield.

I mix in several inches of Miracle Gro garden soil at the beginning of each season, and I feed with Miracle Gro every 2 weeks-ish.

My neighbors tomato plants in pots are lush and huge and prolific. As far as I can see, the only things significantly different are that she has a lot more shade and I think she mixes in some fertilizer at the time she plants.

An old-timer told me that I had to change all the soil in my pots. Do I really have to do that?

It will involve back-breaking (I have a bad back) work and expense, so if there is something else I could try, I'd rather do that first.

Lee

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Given that you are in Boston (not say Texas), the shade is probably more of a detriment than a help. Tomatoes like sunshine! What size containers are you talking about? One tomato plant needs MINIMUM of 5 gallon bucket size, more would be better.

And yes, if you have grown a tomato plant in a bucket's worth of soil all season, that soil is significantly depleted. Just trying to put some fertilizer in to make up for it won't get it, because the structure of the soil breaks down.

If you want to grow more tomatoes next year in the same bucket, you need to start with fresh soil. Also many diseases that affect tomato plants are soil transmitted, so using the same soil is just asking for disease.

If it is hard on you to dump the buckets of soil out (there would be no plants in them at that time) and refill them, then find someone to do it for you. It's a once a year chore.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus