iast8

Tomatoes wilting?

I have 2 tomatoes I'm growing on my patio, and they are growing well, but the leaves seem wilty. is this from overwatering? underwatering?

I'm new at this, please help!!

:shock:

Halfway
Green Thumb

Try to get a feel for the "weight" of the plant and pot when full and when dry. That is about the best way I have found to insure the wilt if from "dry" soil.

Or, push a pencil about 2 inches down and if soil sticks, there is moisture and probably no need for watering.

Are you hardening them off? Too much sun too soon will wilt them as well.

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

It is not uncommon for some tomatoes to wilt a little for part of the day even when properly watered. I often see it in late morning and mid day, less so in the aftrnoon. I think by then the plant hardens up, and earlier in the day it is from soft new growth, but I'm not sure on that.

If wilting is from underwatering a large proportion of the plant will be affected and the pot will be bone dry.

Overwatering usually shows by yellow leaves and a sickly look because dead/disfunctional roots can't get nutrients.

iast8

It seems to be in the mid afternoon that this happens.. The leaves definitely are not yellow, and they look healthy except for their leaves curling under a bit. They are growing and have flowers on them.

I read somewhere that some types of tomatoes have "wiltier" looking leaves. Does that hold any truth?

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

Sounds like your plants are pretty normal. A little wilting will cause the plant to grow more roots. Hold off on the nitrogen fertilizer to slow down top growth. The rolled leaves often show up early in the year when there is a lot of wet weather but it's not a big deal. There is a wilt gene in some tomatoes, but you are probably not going to see those varieties. Oxheart tomatoes have whispy-feathery shaped leaves that look wilted before they fill out with age.

iast8