Chaesman

Question on Tomatoes

I have 3 tomato plants I would like to grow all the way in a container instead of the garden to ensure good yield and seeds for next year. My garden soil is not the best since this is my first year and I want to make sure to have a few good Plants the Plants are as follows

1 Black tula
2 Hillbilly
3 mountain princess

I have the following questions before I do this.

1 is it possible?
2 How wide and deep of a container would I need?
3 What should I use to fill the container Ie composted manure, topsoil ect.
4 what supplements should I add to these plants regularly?

Thank you for your help in advance

sincerly

Jon and Carolyn

johnny123

I would use plastic 5 gallon pails with holes in the bottom.
Use the lids for catching water from them.
Mix some bagged garden soil with manure or get the one with manure already in it.
A simple 10-10-10 time release pellet fertilizer will be fine.

Or you could just dig a hole in the garden and replace the soil in the hole with that you would use in the 5 gallon pails.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

No matter what kind of plant you want to grow in a container, the soil must drain rapidly. Buy a potting mix for this purpose. It drains faster than a garden mix. You can mix in some compost, and even worm castings, if you wish, but whether you do or not, definitely add about 1/4 perlite to the mix. You want 3 parts potting mix to 1 part perlite. You can toss in some sand if you like, but it isn't really necessary. The perlite will do the job. :)

You can successfully grow your tomatoes, even full-size indeterminate types, in a 5 gallon bucket with holes in the bottom. They will need support, though, so plan ahead for that. Tomato cages like you buy in the stores are generally too short for full-size tomato plants. I only grow cherry tomatoes, and the year before last, they grew to at least 6' tall, maybe taller.