Dany_mex
Cool Member

Having trouble identifying suckers

Hello,

Well my cherry tomatoes are starting to flower which is awesome!!! I'm a newbie growing tomatoes and it makes me so happy to see the flowers starting to bloom.........but I'm having some trouble knowing if some plants or stems are suckers or not, please if you could help me.

[img]https://i353.photobucket.com/albums/r389/evo_flo/IMG01627-20110104-1600.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i353.photobucket.com/albums/r389/evo_flo/IMG01628-20110104-1605.jpg[/img]

The middle ones, now that I look at the pictures they do look like suckers but could you help me to be sure?

Cheers.

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

Both are suckers/branches. If it come out of the base of a leaf it is a sucker/branch. The main stem sometimes forks but the stems will usually be flattened at that juncture. Cherry varieties tend to be viney so the early branches are just as productive as the main trunk and hard to distinguish.

Dany_mex
Cool Member

Thank you very much I'll get rid of them right now.

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

Why?

Dany_mex
Cool Member

Aren't suckers bad for the plants? or well for the fruit that can produce?

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Not necessarily and there is a lot of variation of opinion of whether to remove suckers or not. Leaving them on you get a lot more branching, which tends to lead to production of more but smaller tomatoes. For those of us in very humid climates, it also makes a very full bushy plant with less air circulation, so makes the plants more vulnerable to some of the fungal diseases tomatoes are prone to. The people who say they leave their tomato plants alone and they do well, mostly live in more hot/dry areas, which may include you...

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb