Haywire Haywood
Newly Registered

Introduction/First Question

Hi guys (-n-gals as the case may be) Just registered. I'm a novice veggie gardener. This is my first year and I tried Roma Tomatoes, jalopenos, okra, corn (Silver Queen), squash, cucumbers, cilantro, lettuce, carrots watermelon, green bell peppers, and birdhouse gourds for my Martin colony. Most of them just one plant each except for the corn, cucumbers, and the green peppers. Wow, when I spell it all out, it appears I overdid the variety a little. Oh well, it was last minute and I just grabbed some plants and seed off the clearance rack. The carrots all died out when they were about 1" tall, the corn I left too long on the stalk and they dried out, the jalopenos I made salsa with, The okra (all 3 of them) are still out there. I got 2 cucumbers which we ate on a salad. The green bells of which there are 5 or so are still out there. We ate one squash baked, but the rind was thick, not much meat inside. There's 4 watermelons out there too. I'm in central Kentucky.

Anyway, next year I'm going to expand the size of the garden and limit the variety to 2 things and plant enough to hopefully can some. I'm thinking beans and tomatos. A friend of mine said that when he was gardening in Pennsylvania, he had a type of Roma tomato called a "Classico". He said it was twice to three times the size of a normal Roma. I have been trying to find a source for seed or plants online for next year, but have had no luck so far. Anyone know of a tomato like this but maybe called something else?

thanks,
Ian

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Thanks for posting Haywire, sounds like you had a great garden this year. I would plant the beans and tomatoes together next year as I believe that they are companion plants. I don't know of a source for the tomatoes that you are looking for but, you might look up HEIRLOOM TOMATOES on the internet.

Also, see if there is a Seedy Saturday in your area. Lot's of good heirlooms there.