sheeshshe
Greener Thumb

my biggest tomato! how big was your biggest tomato?

This is my first year having great tomato success. Other years my soil just wasn't prepared good enough for a really successful crop. So I just piicked a tomato that weighs a little over a pound on my postal scale! to me it is big since it is my biggest tomato. which makes me curious as to what all of your biggest tomatoes weighed? what is the biggest tomato ever grown?

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

I still haven't broken the 3lb barrier yet even though I have grown a bunch of varieties that the websites say average 3-4 lbs...lies, all lies. Most of those varieties have fruit ranging from 10 oz to 2 lbs. A 1 lb pound tomato looks pretty dang big no matter what because we are so used to seeing 5-6 oz tomatoes in the supermarket.

sheeshshe
Greener Thumb

MAN, I'd love to see a 2 pound tomato!!! that sounds so cool!

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

World record is 7 pound 12 ounce tomato grown by Gordon Graham in 1986.

It was from the variety Delicious, but that variety doesn't really produce extra big tomatoes as a rule so I have to wonder if he fibbed a bit to throw the competition off track. Most competition growers grow something like Big Zac or Porterhouse. They also target fused megabloom flowers, which produce oversized mishapen fruit, and cull all but a couple of fruit per plant to concentrate the plant's resources into those fruit.

For me, Great White had the largest average tomatoes with several two pounders per plant when two pounds was a one time freak on most other varieties.

tedln
Super Green Thumb

My largest grew last year. Both were on hybrid plants. I had a couple of Better Boy tomatoes which came in close to 16 oz each. The Better Boy hybrid normally produces tomatoes about 8oz in size. I guess the stars were just aligned right.