sheeshshe
Greener Thumb

chocolate cherry tomato... question

I grew these last year and the color of them were a light brown. they didn't look like the picture at ALL. thought maybe it was because of the werid wet weather we had last year, but this summer its the same thing, light brown and not at all like the picture. they taste really great though. anyone know if this is what they are really supposed to look like and the pictures where I purchased it at is just off? or am I missing a key nutrient or something? they do have a really great flavor though!

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

I am growing Black Cherry. I have seen a post on another forum asking if they are the same. I couldn't come up with anything that say's they really are not. I at this point think they are the same just different names from different vendors.

that being said this is my first year with them. They do come out pretty awesome. But never black. They are a bit brown to purple.

Though I don't think any tomatoes turn BLACK. Usually the blacks are more purple form what I have seen.

I am new to the heirloom market, so hopefully will come along and debunk everything I said are rather yet agree with me.

sheeshshe
Greener Thumb

I just googled some pictures since mine aren't purpley at all. just light brown. and some peoples indeed are that color too. so weird. I wonder what the color variety is all about ya know? It would be cool if they were purple. I really love the flavor though. YUM!

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Now when I say purple I don';t mean they will be Barney purple. More a black or dark coloration with somewhat of a purple hue to them. Even things like Cherokee Purple don't turn actually purple.

[img]https://3.bp.blogspot.com/_ZipVizMY-zs/S8aZ2tWcVoI/AAAAAAAAANI/gMMAROK_I48/s1600/cherokee_purple_tomato.jpg[/img]

applestar
Mod