tinkerbell9902
Newly Registered

Buds falling off... Please help!

I am fairly new to gardening. I have three tomoto plants, and each of the plants have some yellowed area near the buds. When the buds are touched they fall off. What do I need to do to prevent this, as I am loosing some good potential tomotoes.

bunge

There are so many experts on this forum,
I just know one will answer you soon.
I guess they are all out , tending to their tomatoes.
I wish I could answer you, but I just don't know...???
bunge :(

decam0

Have they produced flowers and then they've withered and fallen off? Are there tiny little green balls where the 'buds' were? If so, then Mother Nature is working perfectly ok and these are your baby tomatoes!

tinkerbell9902
Newly Registered

They have either just bloomed, or about to bloom, but the stem that they are attached to falls off not just the bloom, sorry for the confusion.

decam0

Hmmm...sounds like a shortage of water to me. More information anyone?

Newt
Greener Thumb

Sorry for the delay, but my 'puter is acting up! From this site under #3:
https://hillsborough.extension.ufl.edu/HomeHort/frequently_asked_questions.htm#vegetables
3. Why do my tomato plants consistently drop their blooms?
This is a problem associated with several factors:

(1) Variety selection is of utmost importance for all crops, including tomatoes. Varieties other than those that are recommended for this area by the University of Florida will not be adapted to the climate or soil conditions. Poor growth, bloom drop, and poor fruit set is to be expected from varieties not recommended for this area.

(2) High nitrogen will cause a lack of blooms or bloom drop. High nitrogen availability will cause plants to grow excessive and lush foliage at the expense of bloom and fruit set. Reduce the nitrogen applied to the crop.