FrFtr28
Newly Registered

Need help identifying possible disease

This is my first year with a garden and I have a question regarding my tomato plants. I've attached a couple of pictures that show the leaves yellowing with what appears to me as possible early blight. My green peppers which were transplanted at the same time are still healthy looking. Also, the upper leaves on the tomato plants are turning a dark green if that helps in the diagnosis. So my question is, is this early blight or do I need to fertilize?

Thank you

[img]https://www.portergraphics.net/images/tomato_leaf2.jpg[/img]
[img]https://www.portergraphics.net/images/tomato_leaf_scaled.jpg[/img]

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

The yellowing looks like nitrogen defeciency...older leaves, beginning at the tip and margins. Probably due to the plant translocating nutrients for root growth etc while getting established after transplant to garden. Dead spots are probably just associated with it, not the cause.

pizzarrhea
Cool Member

When were they transplanted? I transplanted a few sweet 100s into pots last week and they're having the same problems but the upper leaves look healthy.

FrFtr28
Newly Registered

I gave them some MiracleGro tomato fertilizer last night to see if that helps. I transplanted them about a week and a half ago, since then it doesn't seem like they have grown much. Is that because it takes a little time to get over the "shock" of transplant and get a hold of the new soil?

Also, I'm thinking I didn't bury them deep enough when I transplanted. I didn't realize you are supposed to bury quite a bit of the stem, too.

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb