tedln
Super Green Thumb

Brandywine Confusion!

Since this is my first year to grow heirloom tomatoes from seed, I read all the hype about the different varieties looking for those with the characteristics I wanted. One of those I ordered was "Brandywine". I ordered from Pinetree seeds because their blurb stated the Brandywine seed dated back to 1886. To me the date meant "genuine heirloom". Later I found many vendors seemed to be selling Brandywine seed for various colors, various leaf shapes, and various sizes. Wikipedia even has the following statement.

"It reached modern popularity after being introduced in 1982 by an elderly Ohio gardener named Ben Quisenberry. He received the variety from a woman named Dorris Sudduth Hill who could trace Brandywine in her family for over 80 years."

I also found that Burpee seed company also claims to have sold the Brandywine seed in it's catalog in 1885

The only traits of the Brandywine tomato which most people agree on are the following. Potato leaf, large plant, low disease resistance, large beefsteak shape, late producer, fairly low producer, great sweet but acidic taste, prone to BER on early fruit, fruit are pink to slightly red in color, prone to cracking, performs better in cooler climates.

I'm curious if the Sudduth family (Sudduth strain) grew the Burpee seed originally and then handed it down from generation to generation.

Due to all the confusion, will the real Brandywine tomato please stand up and identify yourself?

Comments please!

Ted

lakngulf
Greener Thumb

I ordered Brandywine seed from Monticello two days ago. May be too late for this year, but I will try. A few years back I received some as a gift, and they were great!!

[url]https://www.monticellocatalog.org/631088.html[/url]

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

This might help

https://www.victoryseeds.com/information/craig_brandywine.html

I'll add/arrange a bit here.