TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

What are your favorites?

There are a couple of threads with fairly specific questions about varieties, so I thought I would open it up a bit.

What are your favorite tomato varieties top 3-4 for each catagory so that you can include varieties for such things as flavor alone, productivity, and/or special use (sauce etc).

Catagories:

Cherry

Red and Pink

Black

Yellow/Gold

Bicolor

Green when Ripe
Last edited by TZ -OH6 on Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tedln
Super Green Thumb

I would love to be able to contribute to the list. Unfortunately, this is my first year to grow heirlooms with the intent of comparing taste, size, productivity, disease resistance, and adaptability to climatic conditions. Another question I will keep in my mind but not put on the list is "ease of germinating". I learned that Coustralee is very finicky to germinate while Brandy Wine needs to be attacked with a baseball bat to keep it from breaking windows and knocking down doors as it germinates with enthusiasm. Ask the question at the end of the growing season and I should have some good answers for you.

Ted
I simply enjoy gardening!

TZ -OH6
Super Green Thumb

I meant this thread to be an all time favorites, but I guess I initially titled it wrong, then I got laid up and didn't get back to it.

I have some favorites that came as stray seeds so I don't know what they are so I will just put my recommended varieties and skip things others won't find..

Catagories:

Cherry--

Black Cherry
White Cherry (aka snow white?)--
Pink Ping Pong --mild candy sweet taste, no acid tang

Red and Pink--

Brandywine Sudduth
Rose
Ashleigh
Red Penna
Kosovo (Pink heart)
Wes (red heart)

Black--

1) Black Krim
2) Japanese Black Trifele
Black From Tula
Cherokee Purple/Indian Stripe (do not seem to have the "black Russian" taste from the above)

Yellow/Gold--

Earl of Edgecombe (short plant, nice orange baseballs)
Kellogg's Breakfast
Aunt Gerties Gold
Juane Flamee