gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

How big is too big to transplant in the ground to you?

I have heard everything from only plant the smallest plant or even by seed to wait until they are 3 foot or so tall to plant. :shock:

I usually bought my plants and can tell you I believe I have bought some with fruit on them already, from what I hear (depending on who you listen to) that is not good.

I'm no newby to gardening but I am new to seedling somewhat. Most of you know I have a ton of Tom's growing inside. I have potted them up some of the a couple of times and bury them deep. They were going slow until I potted them up now they are growing like mad. I just raised my lights today and it was either last week or the week before I did the same. They were touching the lights. Needless to say they are doing fantastic.

But some of them are getting pretty dang big (one of them is your Brandywine D_V :D ). I'm starting to think I might have started too early. With at the minimum another 3-4 weeks before they go out these things are gonna be HUGE.

So the question to you all is what is too big, or do you think there is a "too big" tomato transplant?

Thanks Dono

applestar
Mod

Try to look up hendi_alex's posts on his tomato care. With a greenhouse (space!) and more southern location (earlier plant out time), he's got two advantages going for him, but he's told us in the past how he continues to uppot his toms in up to 3 gal pots, lugging them in and out until the weather settles.

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Well I have 10 plus gallon pots so that is not a problem. I'm thinking I might have to uppot again maybe I'll wait to next week but I have all sizes of pots.

I was just thinking if they are too big when you start they might not produce as long. But than again in the perfect climate Tom's are perennials so maybe that does't matter.