SDGardener
Newly Registered

New guy here. Need help.

I am new to this forum, as of today. I am new to gardening as well and was going off of advice from Home Depot. My tomato plant is in need of help. All was going good and then it seems in the matter of a week, leaves starting turning yellow, wilting and then healthy green leaves starting to form small black spots. I only have one tomato on the plant which is still green and just smaller than a golf ball, but the bottom of it didn't form right and it almost looks like a crack along it. We just had a lot of rain and temps have been in the 50's to 60's. This is a "beefmaster" tomato plant, as listed at Home Depot.

Thanks,
Vince

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

tomato problems

Sorry, we do try to be helpful. I think nobody really had a good answer, so we were all hoping someone else would jump in.

It helps if you can post a picture (instructions for that are in the introductory section Helpful Tips and Suggestions for New Members). Otherwise, the more information you can give us, the more likely someone will be able to help. For example, you said lots of rain. How well drained is the area for getting rid of the rain? What is your soil like? Have you been fertilizing the tomatoes (with what)?

Here's some thoughts off the top of my head: 50's is a little low for tomatoes. Not that they can't survive it, but they don't thrive real well (especially if that is day time high temps and night time temps are lower).
Lots of rain could mean they are a bit over watered and not getting enough sun. Also the cracking tends to happen when there's variable moisture -- the tomatoes dry out a bit and the skin hardens up and then a bunch of rain comes and they expand faster than the skin can stretch. Cure is to try not to let them dry out between the rains.