lblizard
Newly Registered

Is the tomato season over? What now?

For the first time ever I grew my own tomoatoes in grow bags in my green house. I have never done this before and my father in law helped with advice.

Now it seems the tomotoes are coming to an end, Is this right?

What should I do now with the grow bags etc?

Is there any other vegtables I could try to grow through the UK winter ?

Any advice for a newbie welcome.

applestar
Mod

I, too, am curious about this. Grow bags are not as widespread in the U.S. (as far as I know), but I believe, it's essentially container-growing in the bag the soil mix came in. Once the nutrients in the original mix is used up, can the bag be kept going? I mostly garden in the ground, and tend to use no-till gardening to promote soil biology. I usually cut all my plants at soil level rather than dig them out when they're done, layer compost and mulch to add organic matter and nutrients, and rotate nitrogen-fixers like legumes and nutrient accumulators/deep rooters to bring up deep-down minerals (these terms are from Permaculture).

Do similar practices work in containers? Can, lblizard, for instance, cut the tomato plant at the soil line, leaving the roots in the bag to break down and grow, say peas and lettuce or other greens (like kale, maybe) during the winter? Hmm, I can see the limitation in the bags in that they may not hold up over the seasons vs. containers -- are these bags just plastic bags or are they made of stronger, non-degrading material?