Rosie51

Winter Tomato growing?

I have a nice sunroom and I'm thinking I'd like to try to grow a tomato plant inside this winter. Our winters are not too bad. I would use the sunroom for a month longer and then transfer the plant inside the house in a west window for about three months and then back in the sunroom after it starts warming up again.

I'm new at doing this. Any suggestions or ideas? If this is a bad idea, please let me know. I just know I hate to have to buy tomatoes from the store for winter/spring.

Have any of you done this?

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I know, it just kills all of us to go back to eating store bought tomatoes! Ugh! :cry: HOWEVER, tomatoes are full sun plants. There is no way you are going to grow and ripen tomatoes with window light, sunroom or not. If you can add a bunch of artificial light in your sunroom and keep it warm enough, maybe.

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Tomatoes are quite the challenge to grow during the winter in a temperate area. They need both lots of warmth, over 80 degrees to thrive, and plenty of light, at least 14-16 hours per day. If you use supplemental light, I don't think that any of those seed starting/small plant setups would work. You would have to have some of the high powered lights like might be used to grow that unmentionable plant indoors. Those kinds of lights cost an awful lot to operate just to get a few tomatoes out of season.

I have grown tomatoes in my greenhouse, which stays warmer than you location would, and also gets more light. Even in that location the tomatoes were such a challenge that I eventual gave up on the effort.

Some tomatoes lend themselves to indoor winter container culture than others. Mostly they are the somewhat small vines patio typles. A larger slicing tomato plant is not likely to give very good results.