lives4huntin
Newly Registered

Best way to ripen tomatoes

I just pulled about 100 green tomatoes from our plant. We would have left them go longer, but snow is in the forecast for tonight and the next few days. What is the preferred or best method to ripen these tomatoes?

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

I just leave mine on a table in a well lit room and they usually ripen without a problem. Years ago I used to wrap mine in newspaper and space them apart in a cardboard box. That method seems a little tedious though. I've never tried it before, but supposedly if you place a few green tomatoes in a paper bag with a ripe apple, the ethylene gas from the apple will speed the ripening of the tomatoes. That would make for a nice experiment, why not do two bags, one with the apple and one without.

Snow? Thank goodness I'm in S.C. With luck we won't see frost before the third week in November, though it sometimes comes as early as the third week in October. Been too long since we saw a real snow, more than a dusting. Snow is pretty nice down here. It can snow six or eight inches and is gone a day or two later and might even be 60 degrees by then.

Diane
Green Thumb

I've had great luck with putting a few apples in a bowl with a bunch of green tomatoes. And then put that into a plastic bag and tie it shut.

I take them out once they have some orange in them, usually a few days later, and they ripen quickly on my counter.

My new thing is putting the apples and tomatoes into a plastic coffee container with a lid.

lives4huntin
Newly Registered

Thanks for the input. Low eighties today. High for tommorrow might be forty. Nine motnths of winter, two days of spring, six weeks of summer, three days of fall, then back to the snow.
Don't know why people keep moving to Montana.

Diane
Green Thumb

Ouch, your weather is worse than ours. We might have our first frost thursday night.
Then I'll be in the garden picking every green tomato I have. :cry:

Did you move there?