curiouscatomato
Newly Registered

Questions about overwintering tomatoes

ok so I have started a few tomato plants and pepper plants indoors. they are still quite small and the largest is about 10" tall. I would love to grow these indoors until they are much larger as the cold weather in calgary can kill them pretty easily. this is my first time so please excuse any ignorance. I just have a few questions.

-at what point should the plants be tied to a sturdy stick or net for support?
-is 6 or 7 months too long to wait to move outside?? (not planning on putting them in the ground, just larger buckets)
- is an 8-4-5 organic fert good??

stella1751
Greener Thumb

I have heard of people overwintering their peppers inside, but I haven't heard the same of tomatoes. I suppose it could be done, but the conditions would have to be ideal, mirroring their favorite outdoor conditions: moist heat and lots of sun and plenty of room to spread their roots and foliage. A lot would depend on the type of tomatoes and peppers, too. I've grown most varieties of peppers in containers, but only certain tomatoes thrive under those restrictions.

Even in Calgary, you can set them out at this time of the year. If they're in containers, you can bring them in at night, or stick them in the garage. The gardening stores have these cute little trollies you can set big containers on for easy transport. A kid's red wagon might do every bit as well.

If you plant them in the ground, which is what they will like the most, you can easily cover them at night. I had to cover my tomatoes on June 8 here in Wyoming because the temp was supposed to drop below freezing. I just put buckets over them and covered the whole bunch with quilts.

I stake or use cages on my tomatoes as soon as I know they have recovered from transplanting. We have high winds down here. Plus, babies don't resent the intrusion of a sharp object into their root system as much as adults do.