whitestone
Newly Registered

Darker leaves with white, hairy looking stuff

Sorry I'm not very technical when it comes to plants. I hae a tomateo plant that has been growing fine for about 5 or 6 months. I see no sign of flowering yet, and the newest set of leaves seem to be darker than the rest and have areas of a kind of white hairy stuff on them. If I were new at this and all the leaves had been that way I would say it is normal, but I've never seen this before I don't think. Plants are being grown on a screened in patio in Florida, the weather has gotten more humid and wet the last week or so.

Is this something that could kill the plant? I would really like to have some success with these tomatoes, and I have had plants die before, usually at about 3 inches. This one is about 2 feet. What should I do?

myron26155

whitestone,

hello, I also live in central florida. Do you have any photos of your plants and can you tell me what kind you are growing?

Does the plant look healthy?

I'm growing Bush Goliath, Big Zac,Delicious and a couple cherry tomato plants. The Bush Goliath have very dark green and fuzzy leaves at the top and it grow's like crazy when the leaves are that color. The delicious plants on the other hand are a much lighter green, regardless of how much I fertilize.

The fact the leaves are a very dark green and it has never bloomed may be an indication of too much nitrogen. You may want to switch to a fertilizer with more phosphorus and less nitrogen.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm sorry to be a bearer of bad tidings, but I think your tomatoes may be a lost cause. Even without the white fuzzy stuff, when you say they've been growing at least five months and they are two feet tall and have never bloomed, that tells me the conditions have never been right for them and they are stunted and now they are sick.