iacono
Newly Registered

My Momotaro tomatoes are sick. Help please!

Hello,

This is my first year growing tomatoes and I was excited to find Momotaro tomatoes at my local nursey as I here they are great.

About 1 week after transplant, I noticed the leaves started to curl inward and the veins were purple. Now 3 weeks after transplant, the plant is growing noticeably slower and the leaves are very small. Also, new growth is purple and the leaf stems are curling inward like a corkscrew.

I used a 50/50 mix of compost and soil plus osmocote, perlite, and gypsum in the mix. I water the plants twice a week. The weather has been sunny and in the 70-80 degree range since they were planted.

I took several high resolution images so they are posted on my shutterfly page at the link below. Any help or suggestions from some of you more experienced gardners would be great. Thank You.

GardenerGirl

Purple leaves on a tomato plant generally means a phosphorus deficiency in the plants. This can mean that the soil is too wet or too dry, or that the weather is too cold. Is it getting too cold at night?

You also might try stepping up the watering somewhat: it looks like those are in containers, and twice a week might not be enough for container tomatoes.

If none of those are the problem, you could try adding phosphorus through a fertilizer, but if the problem is in the environment and not the soil, the plant won't be able to take the phosphorus in effectively, and the fertilizer won't do any good.

iacono
Newly Registered