charyan
Newly Registered

Roma tomatoe leaves look shriveled, curled, and dwarfed ! :(

I recently planted 3 tomatoe plants (2 romas and a big boy variety). The romas are planted at the ends and the the big boy planted between the romas. It's been several weeks now that the leaves are dwarfing and curling inwards. They bear fruits but I'm concerned that this disease may inhibit further growth or poor fruit quality. I've googled high and low but have concluded that it might be Glyphosate Damage to the leaves from herbicides. I must admit that I have used weed-be-gone the past (few months ago) on surrounding areas but how does that explain it's effect on the romas but not the big boy variety? This is just killing me. I've had the same poor results last year too (same leaf appearance)!

Your help is much appreciated!

Cheers,
Ryan

[img]https://picasaweb.google.com/ryanldds/TomatoePlant?feat=directlink[/img]

applestar
Mod

Sorry no one has answered your post. I'm an organic gardening proponent, but, setting aside the wrist-slapping for the moment :wink: how are the Romas doing now? Sometimes, problems are temporary. If the plants are otherwise healthy, you might not have anything to worry about. It could even be a varietal difference.

I have a row of Sugar Plum grape tomato, Lynn's Mahogany Garnet tomato, Corn, Lynn's Mahogany Garnet, and Sugar Plum. The area can get a bit water logged with heavy clay soil. Even though SPG's are perfectly fine, LMG's leaves are all curled down and I've been worrying about it, thinking it's the excess moisture. HOWEVER, they are all growing very well, no yellowing and not even a speck or spot on the lower leaves even though I'm violating the prune off the lower leaves rule. I've decided to just forget about it and concentrate on getting the tomato supports built. :wink:

If you're still having problems, post more photos. Maybe someone else will have a better idea.

57ChevyChick