BobbyDigital
Newly Registered

Tomato feeding schedule

Hi,I'm looking to get serious with the tomato growing.I recently purchased a variety of some very interesting heirloom strains.I want to do this real nice and proper... So if I could get some help/advise from one of you pros that would be great.

First of all I would like to figure out a good feeding schedule.I plan on growing in a soilless mix (promix HP) and feeding with a 2 part (grow and bloom) organic tea.The grow formula is 1.50-0.75-1.50 and the bloom formula is .50-1.50-2.0

I'm guessing that the strength of feeding depends of the strain,correct?

This is my first time really growing tomatoes so forgive all the newbie questions I may have.

Should I slowly incease the ppm of my nutrient solution weekly,reaching the peak in the middle of flower and then slowly drecrease? Should I give the plants plain water for the last 2 weeks to flush out accumulated nutrients?

Thanks in advance,these forums look great,glad to be aboard!

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Hi Bob,

Withrespect to the strength of your fertilizer; it doesn't really matter what the strength is per strain but, you would vary the amount of fertilizer that you give a plant based on it's size.

When the plants are small or if you are growing a particular strain that is denoted as being small; then apply less fertilizer.

I would recommend not using a soilless mix because of the fact that organic, non sterilized soils contain a plethora of macro and micronutrients that allow your plants to grow and produce wonderful, tasty fruit.

If you simply use a fertilizer with no soil, your fruit will not be as flavourful as fruit that are grown in soil (with organic fertilizer as soil ammendments) and the plants will also not grow as well with less aggregated tissues that will result in the plants being more susceptible to disease.

I must say that I am not a proponent of this sort of plant rearing.