Garry2009

Upside-Down Tomatoes / Peppers

Hello all:

Has anyone here had experience with growing tomatoes & peppers upside down? I live in a condo where there's no ground for a garden, but I have 3 covered terraces facing due-east. So it'll have to be pots, and I'm going to try something I've never tried before...growing some things upside down. I've read numerous articles on it, and they all declare (with pictures) overwhelming success...so I'm gonna give it a whirl. My seedlings are already underway (in the furnace room with a grow-light...sigh) -- Beedsteak tomatoes, Green Bell and Sweet Banana peppers.

My questions are:
(1) The Beefsteak tomatoes are kinda heavy when full grown; do I need to do something the make sure they don't "fall off" the vines? They don't fall off normal plants (well, most don't), but stilll...there's just something that bugs me with that planter that'll be swinging in the breeze.
2. I'm using Vigoro All Purpose Plant Food: After I transplant into the kooky trapeze planter, how often should I use the "feed"?
3. I've seen where some folks plant things (herbs, spices, etc) on TOP of the planter...does (or can) this alter the taste of the tomatoes? Or maybe...could certain things alter the taste more than other things?

Anyway, that's it for now...any advice on this daffy new process would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Garry

tomatodude

Before you start to grow tomatoes or peppers, how much sun does your east facing terrace get? Anything less than 5-6 hours of full sunlight won't do.
Yes Beefsteaks are a big tomato..typically tomatoes don't fall of the vine till they are ripe..a strong breeze may make them fall off sooner than expected.
Companion planting does not affect the taste of tomatoes....

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb