Just Whisper

Need good tomato variety for hot humid climate

As I mentioned in my introduction, I am in NW Florida (Pensacola). I have been gardening here for 9 years. My tomatoes (as well as most other veggie plants) have never done well here. In other states I have grown beautiful huge tomatoes so I am sure it is something I am NOT doing correctly in this environment. I have tried many different varieties, tried planters, raised beds, hanging baskets, different types of soil amendments, etc. I just can't seem to get it right. I have friends in Pensacola who grow beautiful tomatoes but they are a little further north. The climate changes drastically in very few miles here.
Here are my basic conditions:
I live about 1/2 mile from the coast, sandy soil, average summer temps range from about 80-90 degrees, very little rainfall.
Here is what I am getting from plants:
Leggy, viney, few tomatoes, small tomatoes, spotty, split, rotted, plant vines look yellowish-brown with nodules all over them.

Could it just be the intense heat? What would be the best variety to get nice large tomatoes (Beefsteak style) that are sweet? Anyone else live in high heat areas getting good results?

One more thought here after reading some other posts. I usually have several varieties and they are always planted near each other or, if in pots, set close to each other. Could this cause cross-pollination resulting in poorly producing plants?
Thanks. Melissa

grannygreenthumb
Newly Registered

I am sure it is something I am NOT doing correctly in this environment. I have tried many different varieties, tried planters, raised beds, hanging baskets, different types of soil amendments, etc. I just can't seem to get it right.
It sounds as if you have tried everything but the one thing that might help - changing your planting times. :D