marineman
Newly Registered

ground cover in difficult area

Hi all,

I am a new homeowner, single male, large, hilly yard with a small creek running through the backyard. I was hoping to get some advice from you garden geniuses as I'd like to add a touch (not full out because I can't afford such a thing) of Japanese or Mediterranean garden appeal to the yard, and I have a bad case of "bachelorism" when it comes to gardening. My first project this spring will be outlining my creek banks. It is relatively steep going to the band, then sharply drops about 2' in most areas to the bed of the creek, which usually has a few inches of water, but in heavy rain raises up to 5-6' of water. It is a mowing nightmare, so I want to eliminate the need and also beautify the area in a natural way. Does anyone have advice for a nice ground cover that will withstand full sun, the potential for occasional high, fast moving water?

I'm currently toying with:
Crownvetch Penngift
Mother of Thyme
Prunella Freelander
Chamomile
Sagina

I should aslo add that the area seems to be very weed and grass-prone sue to the constant moisture, and sun, so I'd like something that will choke out other plants as well.

Thanks in advance!!

applestar
Mod

IMHO, best choice in a situation like you describe would be a selection of native plants, that would be able to survive the conditions given without taking over the area (I.e. needing extra maintenance), as well as add to natural conservation of wildlife. That said, I'm not familiar enough to recommend anything, but folks in the Native Plant forum might. Good luck. :wink:

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

Marineman, welcome to The Helpful Gardener.

Do I read you rightly, that you served in the USMC? If so, thank you so much for your service.