Jackie Gladieux
Newly Registered

Raised Bed Organic Garden

Hi,
I am building a "Raised Bed" organic vegetable garden for my back yard. I need to haul in top soil since I will not be rototilling the ground underneath. I will be adding composted horse manure to the soil as well. My question is what kind of soil should I buy to haul into the bed? If I buy organic soil, will it be too much organic matter after adding composted horse manure? I am new at this, maybe there is no such thing as too much organic matter :o
Thanks.
Jackie

pixelphoto

I personally don't think you can have tooooo much organic matter.
Organic soil doesnt mean it has more organic matter. It just means it hasnt been treated with chemicals, fertilizers, or pesticides.

I have cinder block raised beds that I put compost and top soil from my land in and have great success. Sounds like you are on your way to a great raised bed to grow lots of veggies in.
Let us know how you do.

p.s. I laid down cardboard boxes on the ground before putting the raised bed there to kill back some of the weeds. Eventually the cardboard breaks down into a nice crumbly soil. It keeps large cardboard boxes out of the landfill and it recycles it back into the earth since cardboard is cellulose. It is also allowed under USDA organic standards.

Jackie Gladieux
Newly Registered

Thanks for the reply to my question about the soil. I guess I will just purchase soil from the nursery (organic as possible) and add my composted manure. We did lay down a mesh type of material that is suppose to stop the grass from growing underneath.
Jackie

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Hi Jackie, you can make your own soil with the manure you already have and mulched leaves this fall. Don't use Oak leaves if you want to grow corn or any other grasses and don't use walnutleaves. We have a plethora of information in the forums on composting.