Organifyed
Newly Registered

What is this on my pepper plants?

Hello,

I am new to gardening. My garden seems to be doing very well. Be these spots appeared on my pepper plants and I would like to know if I need to take action or is there a treatment for this?

I live in VA zone 7a.

Thank you in advance for your feedback.

Organifyed
Attachments
Spotted pepper leaf
Spotted pepper leaf

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

When did you plant them? And can you show us more pictures of the plant(s) as a whole? Can you add a picture of the underside of the leaves that are affected?

Organifyed
Newly Registered

Hey Lindsay, At the moment I don't have a picture of the underside of the leaves but this morning I removed about 5 leaves total from 2 pepper plants. I have a polyculture environment and I really want to avoid mass destruction. I have tomatoes, Watermelon, Cantaloupe, Purple Basil and Crookneck Squash in my raised bed.
Attachments
Whole Pepper Plant
Whole Pepper Plant
2016-06-21 09.54.32.jpg (161.78 KiB) Viewed 3170 times

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

So, my knee jerk response is that it's likely just sunburn...

We're these guys tender when you put them out? How long have they been I. The ground when you saw these spots starting? Do you have more than one pepper plant? Is this on them all?

But I need to see the undersides. Could be some type of Fungal issue.

If you don't think it's sunburn, I would lean towards something fungal.

I use need oil and baking soda as a preventative spray. I spray weekly. If I see anything funky on the plants, I promptly remove the affected parts.

Best thing you can do for fungal issues is prevention and regular preventative maintenance (damage control) once it arrives. You can never reverse it.

imafan26
Mod