Nathan Reed

Burrowing pest near raised bed, please help

I'm new here so I hope this is the right place for this! I want my garden to be completely organic, so any pest control I do needs to be organic, I think this is the right place?

I just noticed this today! something has burrowed around my raised bed and I'm very worried. this is my first year gardening and these are my main vegetables, I would hate if some critter ate them all :(

I have beets and two kinds of carrots in here, and I'm afraid something might be getting at them from the looks of this trail? I honestly don't know what it could be, but if you have a guess and some ideas of what to do about it please share, I have no idea what to do! :cry:
Attachments
burrowing pest.png
burrowing pest 2.png

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

Here is something that has worked for me with gophers - pester them!

I take a metal rod and a hammer. Thirty minutes of punching holes in about 40 square feet of earth will, at least, let them know that they aren't welcome!

Pester them. I have rid my garden environment of ground squirrels by finding rocks slightly larger than the size of their burrows and using a block of wood and a sledge hammer to drive about 3 burrow-sized rocks in each hole! Someone pointed out to me that they live 6 months out of every 12, underground. Well, they didn't make a reappearance that year or the year following so ... it was effective from my standpoint.

Guard your Garden!

Steve

Meatburner

That looks more like moles than gophers or ground squirrels to what I see around here. Not sure about the detailed remedy is appropriate without knowing what the culprit is. Just my opinion.

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

I don't think it is a ground squirrel, either. Nor, a ground hog or their marmot 20# cousins we have to contend with here. Their raiding would likely be above ground and at a distance from their burrows.