StevePots

Lessons from the Noob gardener

There are three kinds of men (people). The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence for themselves
Took some liberties with this Will Rogers quote.

Okay so I'm making lots of mistakes. I'm a noob and that is the way of the world. Noobs make mistakes. If you are a noob too maybe I can spare you from making the same mistakes I made and maybe you can spare me the mistakes you made.

Mistake 1.0 I apparently forgot that I live in a swamp.
Yes I live in Florida, Zone 10A
It's hot and humid here during summer. Here nobody hangs their washing out to dry because it won't dry. Even if it does (it won't) the afternoon rain will get it.
I forgot that the US offers many different types of regions. Some Hot and wet other cold and dry and everything in between. I forgot that I live in a swamp and that some of the tips and tricks I read or videos I watched were for gardens in other regions.

Mistake 1.1 Using Peat Moss (or anything that holds water)
Yes... swamp, humidity and a lot of rain so,I did not need to add peat moss to my containers.
First of all I learned that peat moss is acidic. I also learned that it is not sustainable and some claim it is chock full of pests. (not sure) Ya coco fiber would be better but still unnecessary.

What I did in my container garden was to put lava rocks at the bottom of the containers then layer on peat moss and then add my soil. What happened was, the soil and peat moss got wet and the peat moss expanded and blocked the water from getting to the drain holes. This cause my containers to become water logged. If you don't know I'll tell you. Funguses, viruses and bacteria love warm wet conditions. my containers, sitting in the hot sun not drying, became breeding grounds for all that could possibly ale plants. Sick plants with root rot attract bugs so it was not long before the majority of the plants died or were eaten.