mike777
Newly Registered

Starting seed planting

I'm a total novice, but I just can't find the answer on the internet. So if any help, I would be so thankful.

In starting seeds, I see on youtube everyone is using seeds that they buy from a package. Can't I just use the seeds from the veggies I eat. Like green peppers, they're loaded with seeds.

I especially want to start off making my own kale. I can't believe how much it costs in a grocery store now.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

At times you can. I do collect seeds from some of my home grown flowers, herbs, veggies. But it depends a little. I have never had any luck trying to start peppers from seeds from grocery store green peppers (though there are people who say they have). Green peppers are picked very green, so the seeds in them are immature. If you get ripe, red bell peppers, they will work better.

You can start tomatoes from grocery store tomato seeds. We have a thread going on about it now. It's a bit more complicated, because they are encased in gel which has to be fermented off.

And most grocery store veggies are hybrids, which means the plants grown from the seeds will not resemble the parent veggie you got it from any more (or less) than your children resemble you. Seeds from red tomatoes will produce red tomatoes, but they may not be the same size or flavor.

Seeds from grocery store squash grow very well - my compost pile is always full of volunteers from them.

Dry beans from the grocery store will usually sprout if soaked over night. Cloves of grocery store garlic can be planted and grow into a head of garlic. Grocery store potatoes can be used as seed potatoes. Common seed spices like dill seed, mustard seed, caraway will often sprout if they haven't been sitting on the shelf too long.

Welcome to the forum! :D

Compost Angel
Newly Registered