tje22
Newly Registered

Please help with soil test results

I'm still new to this. Any recommendations on what I need to add. It will be a total of around 1,225 sq ft with amaranth, quinoa, corn, potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, onions, cucumbers, carrots, and more...I'm sure I'm forgetting stuff too. I'm also going to put in a winter compost crop of rye, wheat, hairy thatch, and fava beans.
Thanks for looking, can't wait to hear some input!

imafan26
Mod

This is the organic forum. If you want organic recommendations you can ask for that when you submit your test otherwise, they will always answer with synthetic fertilizers.

Your soil test is actually pretty good in the phos and K ranges. You are in the middle. You would need to add some nitrogen. The total nitrogen is usually divided. Part of the nitrogen will be given when planting with side dressings in 3- 4 weeks. Since you are planting legumes that will help put some of the nitrogen in the soil but it will not become available until the next crop cycle. If you get good nitrogen fixing nodules you are very lucky. If not inoculating the seeds will improve nitrogen fixation. Nitrogen fixers work faster in warmer weather and are slowed by the cold. Hairy vetch and cowpea use different inoculants. I don't know what Hairy thatch is, I have not heard of that. Winter rye and buckwheat are good for adding biomass but would not be fixing a whole lot of nitrogen.

Do not add chicken manure. Your pH 7.7 is already on the alkaline end of things. Chicken manure might edge that up a half point and you really would not want anything over 8. Adding compost will buffer the pH.