Lisvita
Newly Registered

Worms eating my zucchini roots! Help

I am pretty new to gardening and this is my first time growing zucchini. I have searched and cant find any pictures of little black worms eating the stem of the plant, mostly just white grub worms. Does anyone know what these are and the best way to get rid of them organically? Thanks!
Attachments
image.jpg

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

White grubs are Squash Vine Borers. You can dig them out and then cover the vine with more dirt. I saw someone here putting tinfoil around the base of the vines. Some are injecting BT bacteria, available at stores, into the hollow stems. They are a real pain in the hiney!

I think the darker ones are Centipedes. Lemme do some lookin....

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

Ya. The centipedes are eating the leftover dead plant refuse from the SVB. They are just the cleanup crew.

Lisvita
Newly Registered

Is it too late for that plant?

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

Has it wilted?

IME, my plants have to take a pretty serious infestation before they quit producing. Many times, they show signs of SVB before they get large enough to fruit. I just say a prayer, bless their hearts, and they give me some fruits until they wilt. I've not found anything aside from tight row covers that keep them away. They your plants have to be hand pollinated..... Meh...

Dig it out and cover until they just can't take it anymore.

I have considered BT stem injections though. But I'm afraid if I go and buy it, I'll just spray my whole garden. Caterpillars have just been a sore subject for me this year... I'm holding a grudge on them.

Lisvita
Newly Registered

No they have not wilted and they have plenty of fruit! So I guess I should try something..

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb